@ReleaseTheElephant

11374751_1466471541.7346

I’m here to tell you about The Elephant Project. What is it? It’s a fund to put on a production of the show Elephant’s Graveyard by George Brant, directed by Augustana College Senior, Debo Balogun.

Please spread the word about this project! I’m the lighting designer and I can’t wait to bring it to life. Here’s a little bit about the project from Debo:

Elephant’s Graveyard is the true story of a tiny town in Tennessee that is visited by a travelling circus in September of 1916. Sounds thrilling doesn’t it? Don’t worry; there’s much more to the story. Without spoiling too much – a murder occurs in front of the entire town. Tensions rise. Bloodlust poisons the air. Justice is demanded. We see humanity’s craving for spectacle and violence explored in such a way that is poetic and devastating.

Uplifting, right?

So why does this tragic play mean so much to me? Because it was the very first play I was in. My senior year of high school I auditioned for our theatre department’s production of Elephant’s Graveyard  largely on a whim. I had never acted in anything before – unless you count those embarrassing Christmas pageants they make you do in grade school *shudders*. Low and behold, I got a part – and it was one of the best experiences of my entire life. Performing in that show, I had never felt more alive. From that moment on I was hooked; it marked my descent into this mad mad world that is ‘theatre’. I was in love and I didn’t care who knew it.”

Debo is one of the most inspiring people I have ever met and I hope you all can help share and donate to this project. From the moment I met him I knew he would be doing great things and this is only the start.

You can find us on Facebook here for more information so please give your support!

Leave a Reply

