Being Trans While Disabled

Being transgender and disabled is a unique experience.

For starters, I constantly get told that I’m not disabled. I have Tourette’s and autism. I’m disabled. I choose to call myself disabled. Get over it.

And then there’s the transphobes who tell me I’m not actually transgender. They can shut up.

But it’s difficult.

My disabilities make it so I can’t drive. I have to rely on other people to drive me. Which means I have to rely on other people’s schedules.

Tell me all you want about patience, but having gender dysphoria and having to wait years to even have an appointment to discuss transitioning is hell. Don’t tell me to be patient when my gender dysphoria makes my depression worse daily.

I just want to transition already but I can’t because my disabilities make it so I have to wait for who knows how long.

American healthcare can suck my non-existant dick, it’s so useless to me.

Leave a Reply

